top of page

Ever Since

There’s magic in these steps. There’s something about the music, our laughter and our smiles that bring the hardwood alive. It was like the house wanted in on our love. Damn it, the galaxy wants in. The way the orange of the sun reaches into the house and caresses your face, I can tell. They want in on our touch, our warmth, our joy—because on only this very floor is it so beautiful and potent. I stare, dead, into your eyes, ignoring your loud, harsh words, dwelling on how it’s been cloudy ever since you put those curtains up. Christ! You listen to me when I speak! you yell. I look down, to the floor. I think back to when this wood used to creak.


 

Ever Since by Melodi Laine is a microfiction story about a beautiful romantic relationship that goes awry. It's inspired by the evocative song "Something in the Orange" by Zach Bryan.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Σχόλια

Βαθμολογήθηκε με 0 από 5 αστέρια.
Δεν υπάρχουν ακόμη βαθμολογίες

Προσθέστε μια βαθμολογία
bottom of page